“What’s the Big &%#*! Deal about Profanity”

This week, I rented a movie that I wish I had not seen. Sure, it had funny moments – some that made me laugh out loud. But it was also filled profane language, crude and crass references,  and even sexually-charged scenes that should have made me blush.

Here’s the problem: they didn’t.

Like most of you, I have become desensitized to the filth produced by Hollywood. I suppose it was inevitable. After all, every television show, every movie, even most commercials feature language and references that conflict with my world-view, and at some point, the only way to keep watching was to allow my heart to develop callouses.

Otherwise, I would be forced to admit what entertians me . . . and maybe even choose different options.

I continue to resist that path.

profanity

In the midst of that internal conflict, I recently read this article by one of my favorite authors, Craig Groeschel. Many of you may know Groeschel from his EXCELLENT book The Christian Atheist. He followed that up with a sequel entitled Weird.

This article, What’s the Big &%#*! Deal about Profanity?, explores the disconnect that I just described – the battle between the purity that God wants for us, and the muck in which we continue to revel.

To whet your appetite, here is a quote from the article:

Recently, when I asked a friend for recommendations of a good movie to rent, he responded enthusiastically, “Have you seen The Hangover? It may be the funniest movie I’ve ever seen!” Excited about a potentially great comedy, I asked a couple of my staff members about the movie. They too had seen it and said it was a riot and must see.

Since I wasn’t sure what The Hangover was rated, my last check point involved doing a little research to see if this was a movie for the whole family or one just for me and my wife to watch together. What I discovered floored me.

According to www.screenit.com, this comedy has more than its fair share of non-family-friendly scenes, intense language, and sexual situations. The rough spots include 91 different variations of the f-bomb (apparently it can function as noun, verb, adjective — maybe even a conjunction for all I know), 41 excretory words, 14 references to a person’s behind, 13 “hells,” and nine slang terms for male anatomy. To top it all off, this hilarious movie has 31 different versions of taking God’s name in vain.

When I told my friends and staff members that the movie had 91 f-bombs, which averages out to approximately one version of the “f” word per minute, they were all shocked. “Really? I didn’t even notice” was the most common response.

Really… you didn’t notice one “f” word each minute?

Groeschel than proceeds to wrestle with this question: “So, what is the magic number?” How much is too much?

I hope you will continue reading the article, and then post your thoughts below. (Click HERE to read it).

This entry was posted in Christian Living and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “What’s the Big &%#*! Deal about Profanity”

  1. Rusty Walser says:

    Swearing can be damaging for your career according to CareerBuilder.com. I recently read this in an issue of “The Week” magazine (August 10, 2012, Vol. 12, Issue 578, p. 4), “… a survey by CareerBuilder.com found that 57 percent of employers said they’d be less likely to promote someone who curses, and 64 percent think less of an employee who habitually swears.”

  2. Melanie Canovai says:

    Matt ru talking to me , I really have been doing so much better , not perfect , but better. But if any cuss word is a sin you might as well use the good ones !!!

Leave a Reply

