100 Things to Praise God For

A thankful heart changes everything. When we verbalize what is right in life, the gloom and troubles of this world seem to fade.

A few years ago, I picked up a little book entitled 10,000 Things to Praise God For. It was a neat little book, written in list form. The author literally wrote 10,000 things for which she was thankful.

Give Thanks

I thought about that book today, and how much we could all stand to be still and “count our blessings one-by-one”. So . . . since it’s Monday morning, and Congress is debating war, and the economy is still flat, and NC State’s football team looked so bad on Saturday, I decided to try my hand and identifying things for which to be thankful

10,000 things seemed a little ambitious for one morning, so I settled for 100. Could I find 100 things that would make me remember just how blessed I really am? I’m embarrased to say, it was harder than I thought. But I made it to 100, and later I plan to double it.

Here is my list – random things for which I am thankful. After you read this, why not block off an hour or two and make a list of your own. Happy Monday!

100 Reasons to Give Thanks:

  1. A WONDEFUL Family.
  2. Christian Friends
  3. Coffee first thing in the morning
  4. Café mocha after supper
  5. Hamburgers with mustard, ketchup, chili.
  6. The feel of cool sand under my feet at the beach.
  7. Children laughing.
  8. Playful dogs
  9. Purring cats
  10. That my children don’t have a cat.
  11. Seinfeld re-runs.
  12. A job that I love.
  13. A GREAT Church family.
  14. Throwing baseball with my son.
  15. Cherry cheesecake
  16. Throwing football with friends.
  17. Basketball – both to watch and to play.
  18. Good cell phone reception at home.
  19. Prayer walks in the morning around Pinedale.
  20. Evening walks with my wife.
  21. Dark chocolate.
  22. God’s AMAZING Grace.
  23. A Savior willing to suffer and die for ME!
  24. The smell of freshly baked bread
  25. The taste of hot cookies
  26. That God answers prayer.
  27. IPods.
  28. The majesty of the song Amazing Love.
  29. The feeling of unity when a congregation sings together.
  30. Neosporin – the world’s greatest medical breakthrough.
  31. The musical, Les Mis.
  32. Reynolds Coliseum on gameday.
  33. A riding lawnmower.
  34. Fresh-laid eggs.
  35. The serenity of watching a chicken peck the ground.
  36. The incredible majesty of the Grand Tetons.
  37. The Drama of the story of Joseph.
  38. God’s provision in the story of Esther.
  39. The comedy of Bill Cosby.
  40. Good mentors.
  41. Fall evenings in Cullowhee.
  42. Summer mornings in Cullowhee.
  43. Waterfalls.
  44. Biking on Kiawah Island.
  45. Soldiers who fight for justice.
  46. Camping with the guys.
  47. Campfires.
  48. The Joyce Kilmer National Forest.
  49. God’s willingness to love the unlovable.
  50. The story of Jesus with the woman at the well.
  51. A father who showed us his love.
  52. A mother who always had time.
  53. Deer in the early evening.
  54. A giving, selfless wife.
  55. Strong schools for my children.
  56. Caring teachers.
  57. Former students who stay in contact.
  58. Hot chocolate with whipped cream.
  59. Old clips of Jim Valvano.
  60. “Closing Ceremonies” at Walt Disney World.
  61. Sports video games.
  62. Charles Dickens’ David Copperfield.
  63. Every other Charles Dickens book.
  64. Masterpiece Theater. (Seriously)
  65. The play, Seven Brides for Seven Brothers.
  66. The play, Me and My Girl
  67. Big Red chewing gum.
  68. Live oak trees.
  69. Sugar maples in the fall.
  70. The Pinedale Singles group.
  71. The Pinedale Shepherd’s Class.
  72. The Pinedale Seekers Class.
  73. Seashells on Edisto Island.
  74. Coca-Cola.
  75. The reverence of old cemeteries.
  76. The awe of Arlington National Cemetery.
  77. The empty tomb of Jesus Christ.
  78. The end of Revelation.
  79. Rocky III.
  80. Home sweet home.
  81. The stars and stripes.
  82. Freedom of speech and religion.
  83. Watching baseball at night.
  84. The smell of a newspaper.
  85. Children singing.
  86. Church choirs.
  87. The Mississippi river.
  88. Children reading.
  89. Roald Dahl books.
  90. Salt-water aquariums.
  91. Talking with overseas friends on Skype.
  92. Gas logs.
  93. Biscuits and gravy.
  94. Muppet movies.
  95. Fantasy Football.
  96. A baby’s laugh.
  97. Oswald Chambers’ My Utmost for His Highest
  98. Tasteful jokes.
  99. Role models.
  100. A family with a legacy of faith

give-thanks-gratitude

This entry was posted in Christian Growth, Christian Living, Culture and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 100 Things to Praise God For

  1. NCServant says:

    You are correct that simply stopping and thinking of a hundred blessings can be challenging; their greatest impact is realized when we recognize them as they are presented to us.

    • matthewsink says:

      It’s hard to do thougyh, isn’t it? We tend to take the little things for granted. So, where one small irritant can derail our entire morning, one small blessing barely even registers. How much better would life be if we would learn to thank God throughout the day!

  2. Melanie Canovai says:

    #101 washer & dryer

  3. vicki says:

    Who is Jim Valvano? (#59)

    • matthewsink says:

      Jim Valvano was the baskeball coach at NC State in the 1980’s-early 90’s. Later, as a cancer patient, he started the V Foundation for Cancer Research. One of the most inspiring people/speakers I’ve ever heard.

  4. Debbie C. says:

    I have to agree with most of your list Matthew (except coffee in the morning and cafe mocha, whatever that is, but I think it is related to coffee?). I would add 102. the smell of lilacs in the spring, 103. a cup of tea in the morning, 104. Raisin Bran Crunch, 104. Milk, 105. The song Amazing Grace, 106. A walk on a rainy day, 107. A best friend (who is also a Christian), just to name a few. Thanks for posting this. I’m definitely going to try to find 100 of my own.

  5. Debbie C. says:

    108. Recognizing I used 104 twice! Oops!

  6. Wendy says:

    #41 and #42 could simply be consolidated into “Cullowhee”. No part of Cullowhee made me unthankful. Well, except for those stinkin’ classes that got in my way of having fun day in and day out. 😉

    My add-ons? Unexpected, undeserved blessings. Kid carriers for adult bikes yielding family bike rides. A hubby that puts his wife and daughter above himself day after day. Hmmm…could list lots more. Point taken – great exercise!

  7. Toni Lineberry says:

    My outdoor gril, My camper, My roommates that help pay for my nice house, My husband and his slight interest in learning to cook,soft blankets, sweaters or sweat shirts. My TV, CSI & my computer. My great job, family & friends. Feelinf & being LOVED. Butterflys & hearts

Leave a Reply

