The Fingerprint of God?

When I was a child, my family used to take walks in the woods near our house. One of my favorite parts of these woods was a small creek that flowed through the center. The creek had sandy banks, and many times we would find animal tracks embedded in the wet sand. We would look for those – they were treasures – and everytime we found one my brothers and I would shout for my father to come and examine them.

“What are these Daddy?”

8504328-animal-footprints-in-the-sand-copy-space

Looking back now, maybe I should have been suspicious that he always had an answer. Whether or not he actually knew how to differentiate between a raccoon track and a fox track and a deer track I’m not sure. I do know this, though – there were plenty of wild animals living inside of our woods. I never saw them – they stayed hidden in the daylight – but I knew they had been there. They left evidence of their existence in the sand by the creek.

Here’s why I shared that story: In our day of skepticism and doubt, many people question the very existence of God and His activity in the world. They argue that since we can’t see God with our eyes, faith is weak and misguided. But I would argue that while faith is necessarily believing in what our eyes can’t see (Hebrews 11:1), God has not left us without evidence. On the contrary, He has left tracks, or fingerprints throughout his creation that make point towards Him. We just need to look up and notice them.

Here’s how Paul described this in  Romans 1: 19-20 – For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities—His eternal power and divine nature—have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that men are without excuse.

In other words, God has revealed himself in His creation, just like an artist reveals himself in a work of art.

There is so much to say on this subject, but for now I just want to share this video. I found this on Youtube and really enjoyed it. Give it a watch -it is only a few minutes – and then look around and see where you can see the fingerprints of God.

 fibonacci-sequence-golden-ratio-phi11

This entry was posted in Christian Living, Fun Stuff, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

